Faculty Experts

This online faculty experts list highlights various University of Northwestern – St. Paul faculty and staff who can provide background information or commentary on a variety of topics to news media.

For media inquiries, please contact Cayla Blucker, Communications Specialist within Alumni & Public Relations at 651-286-7759.

Megan Brown, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Christian Ministries

mgbrown@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-286-7538

Areas of Expertise:

Developmental Theory for Ministry

Emerging Adult Ministry

Relationships and Women in Ministry

Teaching, Curriculum Design, Development

Jonathan Den Hartog, Ph.D.

Department Chair of History & Related Fields, Associate Professor of History

jdenhartog@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-628-3253

Areas of Expertise:

Fundamentalists and Evangelicals (Identity, History, Culture)

Religion and American Politics (Past and Present)

John Easterling, D.Miss., D.Min.

Professor of Intercultural Studies

jfeasterling@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-631-5193
Home Phone: 651-639-0868

Areas of Expertise:

Christianity in France

Contemporary Religious Movements in America

History and Contemporary Issues of Christian Missions

Overseas Mission Work with University Students

Dale Gentry, Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Biology & Biochemistry; Associate Professor of Biology & Biochemistry

djgentry@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-631-5245

Area of Expertise:

Cavity Nesting Birds and Woodpeckers in General

Christian Stewardship of the Environment

Integration of Faith and Science

W. Edward Glenny, Ph.D., Th.D

J. Edwin Hartill Endowed Professor (2011–15), Professor of New Testament Studies and Greek

eglenny@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-631-5245

Areas of Expertise:

Biblical Hermeneutics

Biblical Studies

Greek

Septuagint

Teresa Gonske, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics Education, Coordinator of Mathematics Education

tlgonske@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-631-5228

Areas of Expertise:

Cognition (Related to Learning & Understanding Mathematics)

Geometry and Spatial Reasoning

Mathematics Standards & Curriculum for Grades 6-12

Pedagogical Content Knowledge (For Teachers)

Jennifer Hunter, MFA

Director and Professor of Theatre

jkhunter@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-286-7495

Area of Expertise:

Theatre

Keith Jones, Ph.D.

Professor of English

kajones@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-286-7482

Area of Expertise:

Shakespeare

Kent Kaiser, Ph.D. APR

Department Chair of Communication, Professor of Communication

klkaiser@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-286-7685
Mobile Phone: 651-338-1777

Areas of Expertise:

Census

Elections

Faith and Politics

Gender and Sports

Mining

Natural Resource Policy

Politics (State and Federal)

Public Relations

Race and Sports

Social Media

Sport Communication

Title IX

Voting

Joel Light, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology

jdlight@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-286-7465

Areas of Expertise:

Climate Change

Environmental Science

Environmental Stewardship

Environmental and Outdoor Education

Jonathan Loopstra, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of History

jaloopstra@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-628-3276

Areas of Expertise:

Ancient World

Early Church/Patristics

History of Christianity in the Near East

Modern Middle East

Rick Love, MFA

Chair, Department of Art & Design; Associate Professor of Art & Design

rplove@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 612-803-5755

Areas of Expertise:

Art Criticism

Art History

Color Theory

Traditional Print Processes

Matthew Miller, Ph.D.

Chair, Department of World Languages, Associate Professor of History, Instructor of Russian Language

mlmiller@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-286-7669

Areas of Expertise:

Christianity in Russia

Eastern Orthodox Christianity

Russian Culture

Russian History

Melissa Baartman Mork, Psy.D.

Department Chair of Psychology, Professor of Psychology

mbmork@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-628-2069
Mobile Phone: 763-913-6389

Areas of Expertise:

Counseling Psychology

Humor Studies

Mental Illness

 

Kirk D. Moss, Ph.D.

Department Chair, Professor of Music: String Methods, Conducting

kdmoss@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-631-5284

Areas of Expertise:

Music Education

Former National President, American String Teachers Association

Philip E. Norris, D.M.A.

Professor of Music: Trumpet, Music Theory, Instrumental Methods

penorris@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-631-5187

Areas of Expertise:

Brass/Trumpet Music

Home Education

Musical Arranging & Composition

Music Education

Bradley L. Sickler, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Philosophy, Program Director for Master of Arts in Theological Studies

blsickler@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-286-7557

Areas of Expertise:

Science and Religion

Kristine Smith, Ed.D.

Department Chair of Physical Education, Health, & Kinesiology, Professor of Physical Education

kksmith@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-631-5361

Areas of Expertise: 

Bullying Prevention - all ages

Grief and Loss

Health and Wellness

Personal Coaching

Douglas Trouten, Ph.D.

Professor of Journalism

djtrouten@unwsp.edu

Office Phone: 651-631-5244

Areas of Expertise:

Christian Journalism

Internet Communication

Mass Media