facebook pixel Search process Northwestern’s… | University of Northwestern, St. Paul
Campus green in the spring with the Billy and Nazareth Hall in the background

Presidential Transition

The Northwestern board of trustees, with the assistance of CarterBaldwin Executive Search, seeks its ninth president to lead the university and media ministry into the future. The president provides leadership, vision, and oversight of all aspects of the organization, working closely with the senior leadership team and other key staff to ensure its effective operation.

After leading the University of Northwestern and Northwestern Media for nearly 20 years, Dr. Alan Cureton has announced he will step down from the chief executive role once the board of trustees appoints a successor. The president serves as the Chief Executive Officer for University of Northwestern and Northwestern Media and is the chief advisor to and executive agent of the Board. The president leads all university educational, media, and managerial affairs by implementing Board policies, informing the Board on appropriate matters, and serving as the university’s key spokesperson.

Northwestern's next president will be a theologically sound leader who will lead within an environment of diverse viewpoints and build on the foundation of diversity and strong community relationships in the region.

Presidential Search

The Presidential Search Committee and the University of Northwestern community invite nominations and applications for the position of President of University of Northwestern and Northwestern Media.

The position profile introduces interested parties to the organization, its history, areas of significance, the opportunity, and desired characteristics and qualifications.

Search Committee

The search committee is comprised of board members, faculty, staff, and members of the Northwestern alumni community:

Grover Sayre III, J.D. (chair)Gracia Reed
Anita Cline-ColeRev. Neal Rich, D.C.
Ginger Ewing, J.D.Dave St. John
John FullerTim Sawyer
Leigh HarrisonYing Shen
Debby Hedlund, J.D.Dan Stoltz
Bud LindstrandNina Barnes (non-voting)

Become a Student


Visit us on Campus

Schedule a Visit

Ask Questions & Connect

Contact Us